Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Ökologisch-Botanischer Garten

Print page
banner-herbarium

The Herbarium

In the UBT Herbarium, dried plant specimens are preserved, classified, and made available for science. In addition to basic plant system research, the evaluation of herbarium material in particular serves to document the distribution areas of plant species and their shifts against the background of climate change. Besides sampled plant species from current and former Bayreuth research projects, e.g. in East Africa, Yemen or Chile, the focus of the Herbarium is on the flora of Bavaria, especially north-eastern Bavaria.

Betreuung:

HistoryHide

The "UBT Herbarium" located in the Ecological-Botanical Garden of the University of Bayreuth was newly founded in 2001. It originated from the integration of the Herbarium of the department of Biogeography with the collections of the Ecological-Botanical Garden and the departments of Plant Systematics and Plant Physiology.

UBT Aktuell 1/2016 „Herbarium Vollrath“ >>> PDF 

CollectionHide

To date, about 42,000 herbarium records have been registered, primarily seed plants and cryptogams (mosses). Over 6500 specimens (Tanzania, Hemp Collection; Yemen, Müller-Hohenstein & Deil Collection) are already available online as scans. The total collection is estimated at over 90,000 specimens. Since the University of Bayreuth itself is very young, most of the specimens are from the last quarter of the 20th century. The collections of native plants are mainly concentrated in the (northern) Bavarian area.

Recently, historical collections have also been integrated into the Herbarium's collection as a result of donations or permanent loans. Here the collection of the naturalist Johannes Kaulfuß (1859-1947), rediscovered at Plassenburg Castle in Kulmbach, occupies a special position: Over 1600 excellently preserved and documented plant specimens, mostly from the beginning of the 20th century, are now a major source for research on changes in the native flora over the last 100 years. More information >>> PDF

Support and ProjectsHide
The collection is supervised by plant systematist Dr. Ulrich Meve, department of Plant Systematics (Spermatophytes) and Dr. Eduard Hertel, Honorary Professor of the University of Bayreuth (Cryptogams). The Director of the Ecological-Botanical Garden, Dr. Gregor Aas, is also the Director of the Herbarium.

Physically, the Herbarium collection is housed mainly in steel compactors in the administration building of the Ecological-Botanical Garden.
The era of major floristically oriented projects in (sub)tropical regions has largely passed. Bayreuth florists and taxonomists are currently concentrating on research concerning the "Flora of North-Eastern Bavaria" and the "Flora of Bayreuth".


Webmaster: Jens Wagner

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Kontakt

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Ökologisch-Botanischer Garten

Seite drucken
banner-herbarium

Herbarium

Im Herbarium UBT werden getrocknete Pflanzenbelege konserviert, eingeordnet und für die Wissenschaft verfügbar gemacht. Neben der pflanzensystematischen Grundlagenforschung dient die Auswertung von Herbarmaterial insbesondere der Dokumentation von Verbreitungsgebieten der Pflanzenarten und ihrer Verschiebungen vor dem Hintergrund des Klimawandels. Neben Belegen aus aktuellen und ehemaligen Bayreuther Forschungsprojekten, z.B. in Ostafrika, Jemen oder Chile, liegt der Schwerpunkt des Herbars auf der Flora von Bayern, vor allem Nordostbayern.

Betreuung:

EntstehungsgeschichteEinklappen

Das „Herbarium UBT“ mit Standort im Ökologisch-Botanischen Garten der Universität Bayreuth wurde im Jahr 2001 neu gegründet. Es ist aus einer Zusammenführung des Herbariums des Lehrstuhls für Biogeographie sowie der Sammlungen des Ökologisch-Botanischen Gartens und der Lehrstühle für Pflanzensystematik und Pflanzenphysiologie hervorgegangen.

UBT Aktuell 1/2016 „Herbarium Vollrath“ >>> PDF 

​SammlungEinklappen

Zurzeit sind ca. 42.000 Herbarbelege verdatet, vorrangig Samenpflanzen und Kryptogamen (Moose). Über 6500 Belege (Tanzania, Sammlung Hemp; Jemen, Sammlung Müller-Hohenstein & Deil) sind bereits als Scan online verfügbar. Der gesamte Bestand wird auf über 90.000 Belege geschätzt. Da die Universität Bayreuth selbst sehr jung ist, stammen die meisten Belege aus dem letzten Viertel des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Aufsammlungen einheimischer Pflanzen konzentrieren sich vor allem auf den (nord)bayerischen Raum.

In letzter Zeit konnten aufgrund von Schenkungen bzw. Dauerleihgaben auch historische Sammlungen in den Bestand des Herbariums integriert werden. Hier nimmt die auf der Kulmbacher Plassenburg wiederentdeckte Sammlung des Naturkundlers Johannes Kaulfuß (1859-1947) eine besondere Stellung ein: Über 1600 hervorragend erhaltene und dokumentierte Pflanzenbelege, meist vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts, sind nun eine wichtige Quelle für die Erforschung einheimischer Florenveränderungen im Verlauf der letzten 100 Jahre. (weitere Informationen zur Sammlung J. Kaulfuß >>> PDF

​Betreuung und Projekte Einklappen

Betreut wird die Sammlung vom Pflanzensystematiker Dr. Ulrich Meve, Lehrstuhl für Pflanzensystematik (Samenpflanzen) und Dr. Eduard Hertel, Honorarprofessor der Universität Bayreuth (Kryptogamen). Der Direktor des Ökologisch-Botanischen Gartens, Dr. Gregor Aas, ist gleichzeitig auch Direktor des Herbariums.

Physisch ist der Bestand des Herbariums überwiegend im Verwaltungsgebäudes des Ökol.-Botanischen Gartens in Stahl-Kompaktoren untergebracht.

Die Zeit der großen floristisch ausgerichteten Projekte in (sub)tropischen Regionen ist weitgehend Geschichte. Bayreuther Floristen und Systematiker konzentrieren sich zur Zeit auf die Erarbeitung einer „Flora von Nordost-Bayern“ und einer „Flora von Bayreuth“. 


Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Jens Wagner

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Kontakt